Style News: Young Designers Competition Winners of 2018


The Independent Cosmetic Manufacturers and Distributors (ICMAD) Association...

The Independent Cosmetic Manufacturers and Distributors (ICMAD) Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Young Designers Awards Competition, who were revealed at last night’s ceremony aboard the Ambassador Yacht at the Balboa Bay Resort in Newport Beach.
Finalists and honorable mentions were selected among more than 356 student participants from 25 schools competing in the annual program that fosters excellence in graphic and packaging design among colleges and universities nationwide.

As guests of ICMAD, finalists received an all- expenses paid trip to the ceremony. The 2018 Young Designers Scholarship winners are:

  • First place and recipient of $5,000 is Erik Rosner, Laguna College of Art & Design
  • Second place and recipient of $2,500 is Jessica Wu, Laguna College of Art & Design
  • Third place and recipient of $1,500 is Jamie Van Dyke, Colorado Mesa University
  • A $25,000 donation from eos Products was presented to Laguna College of Art & Design by ICMAD Vice Chairman and eos Products President, Sanjiv Mehra.

Honorable mention recipients are Samantha Stember, Oregon State University, Emily White, Pennsylvania College of Art and Design and Ashley Munson, Laguna College of Art & Design. The cash awards given to the scholarship winners and honorable mentions were donated by ICMAD and East Hill Industries and presented by East Hill Industries Vice President, Chris James.

“Our Young Designers Scholarship program engages design students and encourages them to further develop their talent by providing real-world experience in the beauty industry,” said Pamela Busiek, ICMAD President, and CEO. “This is a way for ICMAD to help shape and ensure emerging creativity and ability among students to pursue an in-demand profession in cosmetics and personal care design.  The winners represent the next generation of entrepreneurs in the beauty industry.”

ICMAD established the program in 1999 to showcase the extraordinary talents of college-level students studying graphic and package design. The Young Designers Competition recognizes the best design students through their creativity and ingenuity of an original cosmetic package project representative of the industry. For this year’s competition, a clear 8 oz. plastic bottle donated by East Hill Industries, Inc. was the subject of the packaging. Professors are provided instructions for incorporating the competition and project into their classroom curriculum or as an extra-curricular activity.

A panel of judges, selected for their expertise in the packaging, design, and marketing, evaluated all entries and determined finalists and winners. This year’s judges included: Stephen Webster, VP of Global Brand & Design, Mary Kay Inc., Craig Weiss, President, Consumer Product Testing Co., Inc, and Iwona Waluk, Senior Art Director, Global Packaging and Brand, Mary Kay, Inc. Judging facilities were donated by Colour Collective.

The 2018 Young Designers Awards program was made possible thanks to eos, East Hill Industries, Inc., Oracle NetSuite, CIS, Colour Collective, COOLA, Macadamia Professional, Masterpiece International, PartnerShip, Prestige Testing, and Quadpack.
FED EX shipping was donated by PartnerShip. Gift Bag contributors included: Amazing Cosmetics, BioElements, Cosmetic Laboratories, Eight Greens, Fave4, John Masters Organics, Macadamia Professional and SKINN-Dimitri James. 

Chairs for the 2018 Young Designers Competition are Chris James, East Hill Industries, Inc. and Kerry Yates, Colour Collective.

Photo credit: ICMAD/Jessica Sterling Photographer

Header beauty image by jazminantoinette